INNOVATIVE WATER MANAGEMENT AWARD

Kevin O'Brien, Esq.

The recipient of the 2024 Innovative Water Management Award is Kevin O'Brien.

As one of the leading water counsel in California and a senior partner at Downey Brand, Kevin has represented many Sacramento Valley water districts and companies, with a strong reputation for solving problems and supporting innovative and creative water management. He has a calm, respectful approach to water issues and he has a keen sense of when to fight and when to fix, playing a large role shaping the "fix it" culture that permeates the Sacramento Valley.



2024

In this role, he advocates principled positions that reflect the law and are intended to achieve a durable solution for his clients and other parties. Kevin has been a trusted advisor and a strong and reasoned voice in the California water debates for many decades. Kevin has also served as a mentor to many attorneys, Board members, managers, and consultants in the water arena, where he always offers sound guidance, wisdom, and practical skills.

Kevin has played a lead role in inspiring, developing, negotiating, and helping parties implement interestbased, collaborative processes that have resolved complex and long-standing water resource disputes by encouraging and facilitating innovative and creative water management. This includes the negotiation and implementation of the Sacramento River Settlement Contracts; the Agreements to Support Healthy Rivers and Landscapes (Voluntary Agreements); the previous Sacramento Valley Water Management Agreement (Phase 8 settlement); various Groundwater Sustainability Plans (GSPs); and numerous water transfers.

The Northern California Water Association is pleased to honor Kevin O'Brien with the 2024 Innovative Water Management Award.

THE INNOVATIVE WATER MANAGEMENT AWARD

is given by the NCWA President to an individual (or organization) who has demonstrated innovation and creativity in advancing water management in the Sacramento Valley.

PREVIOUS RECIPIENTS

2020

Butte Creek

Water Users

2015

Max Sakato



2023 Marc Van Camp



2017 **Paul Bartkiewicz**



2021 **Curt Aikens**



2016 Sacramento River Settlement Contractors



2019 **River Garden Farms**



2014 Walter Cotter









2018 Grant Davids



2012 Joe Scalmanini

