Homer Lundberg

2019

GR

The 2019 recipient of the Will S. Green Award is Homer Lundberg. Homer is a long-standing leader and innovator in California's water and agriculture communities. A champion of water resources stewardship, Homer helped found the Western Canal Water District in 1985 and served on the district's board of directors for 22 years. During his time on the board, Homer supported efforts by the district to continuously improve its system efficiency and reduce its environmental footprint. This included Western Canal Water District's efforts to improve fish passage and habitat on Butte Creek, including the removal of a diversion dam and construction of a syphon to route the district's main canal under the creek. These actions contributed to the recovery of spring-run Chinook salmon in Butte Creek that continues today. Homer's leadership on water issues also included an appointment to the California State Water Commission and service on the boards of the Butte Basin Water Users Association, the Association of California Water Agencies and the California Farm Water Coalition.



Homer's advocacy for water and land management actions that work in concert with the ecosystem have led to practices that are now considered the foundation of environmentally beneficial farming, including organic farming and weed control, cultivation of cover crops on fallowed ground, water measurement and efficient water management. Homer's leadership and participation in efforts to improve water management, agricultural practices and the environment helped to form the standard for land and water management that the Sacramento Valley is known for today.

THE WILL S. GREEN AWARD is presented annually by the Northern California Water Association Board of Directors to an individual who has devoted their life to the promotion and advancement of irrigation and regional sustainability in the Sacramento Valley.



Previous Recipients



2018 Sandy Willard Denn



Tim Belza

2016 **Tim O'Halloran**



2015 Richard Rominger



2014 Fran Silva



2013 **Gene Harris**