John Currey

2019

John Currey, the 2019 recipient of the Crystal Clear Award, like the four generations of Currey Family before him, embodies the characteristics of stewardship and the values of community service of Sacramento Valley family farmers. He works tirelessly to implement both the NCWA and the Sacramento Valley Water Quality Coalition (SVWQC) mission and vision of sustainable water management – for today and future generations – that includes all beneficial uses in the Sacramento Valley.

Through his service as a member of the Solano Land Trust Board of Directors, management of agricultural leases on the state owned Yolo Bypass Wildlife Area that showcase wildlife benefits from working agriculture, as a technical advisor to the Solano County Groundwater Management Agency, City of Dixon General Plan Update Advisory Committee as well as his advisory roles with California Association of



Resource Conservation Districts, and work with four agencies in the formation of the Dixon Regional Watershed Joint Powers Authority (JPA) for joint drainage improvement projects, John Currey inspires thoughtful public discourse that will assure reliable affordable and high-quality water supplies will be available to serve multiple benefits in the Sacramento Valley.

His strong sense of community and an openness to carefully consider the views of others, which may not be aligned with his, before making a recommendation, has earned him the respect of those who work with him. His stamina and compassion for community has taken him to post earthquake Haiti twice to help rebuild communities there and Bakersfield to rebuild the lives of the four children who he and his wife Tacy adopted in 2016.

Named after the eighth Chief Justice of California, and candidate for Governor of California in 1859, NCWA is honored to recognize John Currey of the Dixon Solano Resources Conservation District as the 2019 Recipient of the Crystal Clear Award.



THE CRYSTAL CLEAR AWARD recognizes exemplary efforts to protect and address water quality in the Sacramento Valley.

Previous Recipients



2018 John Garner



2017 Larry Domenighini



2016 Richard Price